“….And I liked it”

Day 1 of the blog challenge is to be about my current relationship. Well, as Katy Perry aptly sang “I kissed a girl.” That kiss was 17 years ago and we’re still kissing each other. Yes, I’m a woman involved with a woman but no, I’m not gay (and cue the head cocking and eyebrow raising).

As I understand it, the term gay or homosexuality means an individual is attracted to their same gender. I’m not exclusively attracted to my same gender. What I am is exclusively with another woman. That’s it. Is it a way to side-step the “stigma” of being gay? Nope, the only thing I’ve ever side-stepped was a pile of shit in the street, and questions about my political affiliation (that way lay madness). I love whom I love and I’m not too particular about what package it comes wrapped in.

Now that that’s out of the way, I’d like to tell you that this has been a relationship that’s come as easy to me as breathing. It probably helps that we were good friends for several years before anything romantic jumped off. In fact, she was a witness to my first marriage. And no, this relationship didn’t torpedo the previous one. However, I will say that the ending of my marriage and the way it gutted me left me parred down to the bare basics. I had no defenses. I was stripped bare to the very essence of who I was. All I knew was that I was a person with this huge gift of love and loyalty to give. I needed someone worthy of that gift who would know the value of it and would in turn give back that same gift to me. Honor, respect, loyalty and love were what I had and what I asked. I prayed for that so hard, and there she was.

Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t a cakewalk. We had both been so damaged by prior relationships and we were risking ourselves and the very friendship that kept us going through the tough times. But because of that strong friendship, a lot of the things that couples new to each other have to plow through weren’t an issue for us. It kind of felt like participating in insider trading. We each knew that the other was a sure thing as far as mate material goes. There were surprises but none of them unpleasant. The hardest part was actually learning how to date. We were so used to just spending time together just hanging out that it was real work for us to actually make formalized plans of a romantic nature. We still have to work at that but at the end of the day there’s nowhere else I’d rather be and no one else I’d rather be with.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. newboldtopia
    Oct 08, 2014 @ 22:52:46

    🙂 You did kiss a Girl, and I liked it too lol. I will always be Happy and grateful that you found your “forever person”.

    Reply

Thoughts?

