What’s Your Sign?

I’m not the kind of person who places much stock in a person’s birth sign. I’m a firm believer that we are a delightful mixture of innate characteristics and life experiences. However, I can’t argue with what my zodiac sign says about me and people who share this sign. As my birthday falls between August 23rd and September 22nd, that makes me a Virgo, the only sign that is represented by a female. Figures.

According to “Ganesha” http://www.ganeshaspeaks.com/virgo/virgo-traits.action, “Quiet undemonstrative and introvert, the Virgo are the waters that run deep. Wise, witty and well spoken, the Virgo have a good understanding of human nature and can effectively help people solve their problems.” Agreed. I am indeed exactly as this description suggests. However, it helps that I have a Bachelor’s of Science in Psychology, I’m just saying.

Some of my positive traits are that I’m practical, meticulous, analytical, intelligent, reliable and modest. Again, I can’t argue with that, except the modesty. I’m modest in my dress and appearance. I am not modest about my accomplishments. No, I don’t brag or toot my own horn but if I’m good at something, you’ll know it. I’m a wonderful person, I work hard to be so and I’m not backward or reticent in letting folk know this. But, I will allow for not being everyone’s cup of tea. I’m good wit that.

Now for some of my negative traits:  I’m over-critical, fussy, fastidious, harsh, conservative and judgemental. Yeah, I can’t argue with any of this either. I am exacting in my standards. I fuss about seemingly inconsequential minuetae. I can be fastidious in my environments; especially if I have to share it with people, and I’m harsher than bleach on colors. No seriously, if you transgress with me I will rain fire upon you of biblical proportions. And judgemental? Pfft! I’m garbed metaphorically in justicar robes. The thing is, I turn all of these negative traits on myself.  No one will ever be as hard on me as I am on myself. For every harsh judgement or criticism I’ve doled out to someone else; I’ve beaten myself up about it ten times worse. I’m constantly on myself to be better. To strive harder. I won’t ask anything of anyone that I’m not willing to give of myself and if I finally allow you into my inner sanctum and you eff it up? Sucks to be you. I won’t forget it or forgive it and I will napalm that bridge as though there were a Zombie horde on the other side. But if I’m the one to betray my standards and yours? I’ll flay my soul bare and pour salt upon it hourly and even if you forgive me, I will never forgive myself. Never. I don’t love or trust easy but when I do, it’s depth is staggering and damn near unshakeable.

In short, I’m a well-rounded and intelligent woman with OCD and trust issues; or I’m humanity’s accountant. Whatever works.

Thoughts?

